Tuesday, May 29, 2007

I heart Nerds

Because I just do. Geeks too of course. There is a difference between Nerds and Geeks according to the world of Wiki, but I’m not one to discriminerd.

That being said, I'm letting out my inner nerd.

What's the deal with bad videogames? I recently rented the new Pirate of the Caribbean game on PS2. How could www.ign.com readers rate the game as an 8.7? The game is lame, folks, real lame. The initial gut busting laughter of watching Capt. Jack Sparrow walk around in a drunken stupor isn't enough to support yet another repetitive button mashing game. It's also not fun to have little puzzles pointed out to you with a "glowing light". If there's a dangling rope, I assume I have to slide on it. Why would I want a light beam shinning and calling me to it. Seems like the game was designed for children (despite the obvious drunkenness displayed throughout). The story isn't fun to follow (like the new movie I hear), there's no challenge and no surprises. It took us about 5 hours to finish the game, and only about a fifth of that time was mildly amusing.

The God of War franchise ruined every other game for me. Intricate puzzles, lifelike movement, endless awe-inspiring scenery and a great story taken from Greek mythology. Sure there's some violence, but you're fighting gods and monsters, not people. The best part? My recent mythology studies were put to good use! I was no longer "just watching" the story develop, I was involved, captivated and understood every aspect (finally). Who said videogames were a complete waste of time.. pffff!!!!

Let me get back to being a girl here, why haven't any media gossip sites picked up on the nipple outage of the first Miss Universe contestant during the bikini judging?

No comments: