Tuesday, May 29, 2007

I heart Nerds

Because I just do. Geeks too of course. There is a difference between Nerds and Geeks according to the world of Wiki, but I’m not one to discriminerd.

That being said, I'm letting out my inner nerd.

What's the deal with bad videogames? I recently rented the new Pirate of the Caribbean game on PS2. How could www.ign.com readers rate the game as an 8.7? The game is lame, folks, real lame. The initial gut busting laughter of watching Capt. Jack Sparrow walk around in a drunken stupor isn't enough to support yet another repetitive button mashing game. It's also not fun to have little puzzles pointed out to you with a "glowing light". If there's a dangling rope, I assume I have to slide on it. Why would I want a light beam shinning and calling me to it. Seems like the game was designed for children (despite the obvious drunkenness displayed throughout). The story isn't fun to follow (like the new movie I hear), there's no challenge and no surprises. It took us about 5 hours to finish the game, and only about a fifth of that time was mildly amusing.

The God of War franchise ruined every other game for me. Intricate puzzles, lifelike movement, endless awe-inspiring scenery and a great story taken from Greek mythology. Sure there's some violence, but you're fighting gods and monsters, not people. The best part? My recent mythology studies were put to good use! I was no longer "just watching" the story develop, I was involved, captivated and understood every aspect (finally). Who said videogames were a complete waste of time.. pffff!!!!

Let me get back to being a girl here, why haven't any media gossip sites picked up on the nipple outage of the first Miss Universe contestant during the bikini judging?

Another cancellation?


Veronica Mars is a brilliantly witty and entertaining show, week after week, getting episode ratings that are among tv.com’s top 10. Thanks to the new “Sun” channel, I was able to watch the 2 hour finale on the original US programming time slot, prime time Tuesday night. It was the first time I’ve watched the show live in Canada, and maybe the last.


I feel on edge, nervous, and I keep checking its status every few hours for updates and miraculous news. The show may be added to the “shouldn’t have been cancelled” list. CW who has already announced and left the show off its fall schedule, has yet to definitely cancel the show. Mixed signals are being sent, confusing fans everywhere. One day the show’s outlook seemed promising (a new direction for the show was rumored to pick up at the FBI academy, a couple years after present-day VM) then conflicting articles surfaced the next day about the show not being renewed. While rumors now seem to go towards the cancelled path, all I really want to know is, WHY? Why _wouldn’t_ they renew the show? The series finale proved the show still packs the same punch as the first season, while leaving _plenty_ of unanswered questions and possible key character developments.

Until they bring it back for another season, I'll refuse to believe yet another great show's been cancelled.