Tuesday, June 26, 2007

Gripe of the day: Pepsi vs. Coke, who cares!?


I tend to disregard commercials, too few are entertaining or informative, but yesterday I was captivated by this yawning ad. It starts with one person yawning, and obviously everyone else catching the contagious act, spreading to inexplicably large crowds of yawning proportions. I was mostly watching to see which product they were pushing, but my curiosity turned to anger when it made me react before showing me the punch line.

Here's a note for Diet Pepsi Max-ers:
If an ad makes me yawn, I will NOT buy the product, no matter how much it promises me “more caffeine”. I don’t think an ad campaign with a slogan of “yawn-a-thon” is particularly smart either. In fact, when (or if, and it won't) DPMax comes to Canada, I look forward to invoking the law of my “slap-a-thon” to whomever comes in reach of said product. You really want some sweet caffeine? Chew on some choco-spresso beans why don’t you. Or if you’re a corporate slogan whore, reach for Coke’s “side of life” which at least is trying to inspire you to be spontaneous, positive and find the ultimate happy. Give the big C-C props for making us feel happy again by buying the world some coke. Er.. a coke. Hey, it’s their slogan.

Thursday, June 21, 2007

Mmm.. c'est teeeeeellement booooon!

On one of my very spiritual quests for chocolate at the office, I purchased this super flavorful bar of 99% cocoa Lindt Excellence chocolate.

I’ll admit to having some favoritism for Lindt over the other euro brands thanks to a student exchange trip to France as a kid. The mother of my French host family discovered my love for all things chocolaty within an hour of my arrival and made it her mission to turn me into Üter. There were chocolate rice krispies, homemade real hot chocolate, nutella and box after box of the incredible Champs Elysées by Lindt. I was in luck, she worked at Lindt and endlessly supplied me with kilograms of the stuff. Sure, I ate other things, all of which were delicious with the exception of a traditional meal of inedible lard in weird sauce (who likes lard?!), but the sweets were the most memorable.

Back to that super flavorful bar or 99% pure caca-oh. It tastes like black crap. Not that I know what brown or corny crap tastes like, but this stuff is so vial and bitter that it turns me off the taste of cocoa. I can’t imagine the people at Lindt tried it before selling this asinine product. I tried it again just now (for effect), and tears stained my cheeks. BARF! Non, mais vraiment, je pense que mon lunch remonte.
Beware:


Thursday, June 14, 2007

To freak or not to freak

My left pinky finger has been handi for more or less ten years now. Sounds weird? Not so. Handi would be short for handi-not-capable in my case. Back in the day, in the midst of a creative spurt, I tried to split a jumbo straw for some art I was creating. I placed the jumbo straw in my left palm, gripping it tightly as I tried to force a knife into the straw to cut it length-wise. To my surprise, and I should have seen it coming really, the knife easily cut the straw and my pinky finger along with it. Shocked, I opened my hand only to see something I expected even less: the opponens digiti quinti, in short, the bone.

I ran upstairs to tell my sister I cut myself “taking the knife out of the dishwasher” and I did what our cumulative minds thought was best, I placed my pinky under cold running water until she could solve the bandage situation. Twenty minutes later, she emerged with peroxide and forty pounds of gauze in hand. I should have taken pictures then because she did the best mummification on a live human I’ve ever seen and wrapped my poor digit in the forty pounds of gauze. The bandage job was so good in fact that I didn't feel the need to trek to the doctors.

Skip ahead a couple years when I realize that I’m no longer able to bend the end bit of said finger (flexor digitorum profundus). I accepted the consequences of my momentary stupidity until a doctor said it could be fixed. I made an appointment with a hand specialist who was a little too excited to hear about my case. He said my finger-bending ability could possibly be repaired. However, since the cut ligament causing the handicap shrinks when unused, there was no way of knowing how much it had shrunk. He would have to perform an invasive surgery, cutting from mid-pinky in a small zig-zag pattern and extending the disfiguring and increasingly large pattern down my forearm. (As shown here if you strain your eyes and look at one of the superimposed photos.)





I immediately refused the procedure after the doctor explained he had never done such a thing and would be happy to do the explorative surgery. Another option was to forge the joint in a permanently bent position to stop my tip from extending back. Oh, oops! Did I leave that out? Since no ligament is attached to my fingertip, I’m unable to bend the tip of the finger, but there’s also nothing holding it from bending backwards. Now you understand how much of a freak show this is? Back to the point, I didn’t like the idea of my finger being more susceptible to breaking by having a stiff and forged joint (no pun intended), and I also refused this procedure.

Once again, I accepted my fate and lived on to see the disgusted looks on people’s faces as I showed them my very own conversation piece of art. It’s been a long and harrowing road of freakdom, but alas I managed to get through it, using it to my advantage. (My longtime high school art teacher took 10% off my project mark for drawing my hand with a demented finger, but later gave me a perfect score when I showed him how close to reality my drawing had been.)

Spring forward to this morning, when I considered amputating my finger after seeing this on gizmodo: http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/pull-my-digit/video-of-artificial-finger-shows-its-neither-digital-nor-made-of-chicken-268412.php (it’s worth the jump, but come back here, YOU!)

Problem solved? Possibly, but is it better to have a mechanical blue finger covered in fake skin or one that doesn’t bend at all but has a nail perfect for painting? Let’s just say I’m sitting here re-reading my post as I apply vampy red polish to all my ten digits.

Wednesday, June 13, 2007

“I’m just too punk rock for this" morning’s post.



.. sad!

The one and only Frankie Abernathy from Real World: San Diego (aka the funny season) passed away Saturday June 9th, succumbing to Cystic Fibrosis. The cutter will forever be remembered for giving me one the of the best quotes from tv "I'm just too punk rock for this".


Monday, June 11, 2007

Nerd accessories are cool?

This month's Vanity Fair showcased the newest trend in fashion : nerd goggles, by D&G of all people.




No joke, this is what's being designed for us tech-wise kids. I'm happy nerds everywhere now have the options to pimp their eye shields, yet I'm secretly cursing all the cookie-cutter over accessorized non-nerds holding daddy's (or worst, Husband no.4's) credit card, who are going to sport these thinking it makes them look smart, without any visible need to shield their eyes from wafted particles of harmful chemicals. Oh, the shame, and how dare they. (nerd tear)